The Editorial Team is the main executive body of the journal.

  • Aleš Karmazin, Ph.D. (Metropolitan University Prague, Czechia; ORCiD profile) - Editor-in-Chief ( - 9/2020 onwards
  • Martina Varkočková, Ph.D. (Metropolitan University Prague, Czechia; ORCiD profile) - Deputy Editor-in-Chief ( - 1/2021 onwards
  • Jacqueline Dufalla, Ph.D. (Metropolitan University Prague, Czechia) - Associate Editor ( - 6/2024 onwards
  • Eliška Tietzová (Metropolitan University Prague, Czechia) - Technical Editor and Administrator (

If you have any queries, comments or proposals, please feel free to contact us either through our e-mail addresses or use the contact form. 

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is a body of the publisher (Metropolitan University Prague). It oversees the Journal's vision and mission and the most fundamental, strategic and long-term goals. It selects Editor-in-Chief (together with other representatives of the publisher).

Oldřich Bureš (Metropolitan University Prague, Czechia)
Mats Braun (Metropolitan University Prague, Czechia & Institute of International Relations, Prague, Czechia)
Vít Beneš (Metropolitan University Prague, Czechia)
Šárka Kolmašová (Metropolitan University Prague, Czechia)

Editorial Board

The role of the Editorial Board is to provide the Editorial Team, especially the Editor-in-Chief, and the Steering Committee with feedback about the Journal’s mission and vision, the quality of published issues and other strategic decisions. In specific (problematic, unusual) cases, the Editorial Board may be involved in deciding on acceptance or rejection of manuscripts. It typically meets twice a year.

Niyousha Bastani (University of Toronto, Canada)
Alexandr Burilkov (Leuphana University Lüneburg, Germany)
Monika Brusenbauch Meislová (Masaryk University, Brno, Czechia)
Ladislav Cabada (Metropolitan University Prague, Czechia)
Bohumil Doboš (Charles University, Prague, Czechia)
Ondřej Filipec (Palacký University, Olomouc, Czechia)
Francesco Giumelli (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
Anna Grzywacz (Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)
Karl Gustafsson (Stockholm University, Sweden)
Petr Kratochvíl (Institute of International Relations, Prague, Czechia)
Ostap Kushnir (University of Portsmouth, United Kingdom)
Matthias Leese (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
Tetyana Narozhna (University of Winnipeg, Canada)
Marek Neuman (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
Petr Ocelík (Masaryk University, Brno, Czechia)
Andrea Purdekova (University of Bath, United Kingdom)

Caroline Varin (Regent's University London, United Kingdom)

Contact Details

Central European Journal of International and Security Studies (CEJISS)
Metropolitan University Prague
Dubečská 900/10
100 00 Praha 10 – Strašnice